Close

Accessibility options

Listen to page

Color themes

Night reading

Reset all settings

Virtual Tour

08/12/2013

When Germany surrendered to the Allies in 1945, it was a wreckage of a country with a frustrated people, having lost more than 10 million militants and civilians. The war left Germany with 5 million detainees in Siberia and Europe, demolished cities and destroyed infrastructure. The Allies forces carried Germany’s factories, machineries and scientists with them while leaving the country.

At that time, women became the majority of the population in Germany with a rate of 82% aged between 18-40 years, and suicide increased to unprecedented rates.

However, in three months after the Allies left Germany, women started calling for re-building the country under the theme “Rise from the Rubble” with absolute absence of the then government. Women and elderly people started clearing the rubble to rebuild houses and gathering documents and books to rebuild schools.

Women wrote slogans on the ruined walls to stimulate hope and encourage work, such as: ‘Don’t wait for your right’, ‘Do whatever you can’ and ‘Cultivate Hope Before Wheat’.

Thereafter, between 1945 and 1955, houses, roads and schools were reconstructed, and from 1955 to 1965, factories were rebuilt, and 4 million workers were recruited from Turkey and Eastern Germany. By then, slogans on the walls were changed to read: ‘Seriousness and Hope’.

The period between 1965 to 1975 witnessed the emergence of patriotic businessmen who ensured that each of them trained 50 young people. Thereafter, Germany turned out to be a super economic power.

With the growth of its economic strength, Berlin Wall collapsed elevating Germany’s economy to become the strongest in Europe. Demolished walls were the only means to inspire hope and create an enormous positive spirit which enabled a frustrated and destroyed nation to make a global economic miracle after being a destroyed country that even lacked electricity to power on a radio, and whose people couldn’t afford buying newspapers.

The above introduction was called up by the words of His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai, when he addressed local and international media representatives upon Dubai’s winning of the bid to host Expo 2020. In his speech, His Highness expressed hope for Arab nations to overcome challenges in the way of their sought out development.

His Highness underlined the importance of determination, resilience and positive energy in overcoming obstacles, saying: “We hope that peace will prevail all our Arab countries. We tell them that determination, will and positive spirit are important factors for the targeted positive development.. Rivers naturally surpass obstacles on their watercourses and change their course to continue flowing. We wish all the happiness and prosperity for everyone”.

Progress, prosperity, successful policies and management of nations are basically dependant on the public who should be addressed with the language of hope and positive spirit. Positive spirit is based on credibility which is the right channel to respond and interact with the public who is supposed to lead the development process with faith and strong belief in objectives so as to make miracles. Human history is certainly full of examples proving that positive spirit and effective energy can build nations and institutions. With positive spirit a nation can overcome the barrier of time and surpass other nations.

A quick overview, even from a political perspective, shows that a happy human being, no matter if poor, is the one who can be relied upon to build a nation. And since nothing is good or ill but by comparison, we must mention, here, the opposite fact. A sad human being destroys all his surroundings and pass on misery and negative energy to others, thus subvert and demolish the community. A miserable human being unknowingly becomes a negative element that drives the wheel backwards, even in case of being rich and not lacking any cause of living . Herein lies the essence of the subject and the key to success.

Positive spirit that inspires love and determination is a key to success, progress and happiness. By means of positive energy, obstacles can be overcome, cooperation and contentment will prevail. It is a treasure Allah blessed his people with, and those who lack it shall fight for it. Here, in the UAE, we do possess this treasure thanks to our deep belief, prudent leadership and ambitious country which was unified by fate, history and wisdom of our great founding fathers led by late Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan.

We started with certainty, hope and positive energy that spread throughout our nation and became part of the people living in this country. Whoever lives on this giving land have a deep belief that such an unprecedented progress, welfare and advancement witnessed by the country has become the focus of the whole world. The world, now, believes in the ability of this nation to convey messages of love, peace, prosperity, science and education to all countries and nations. Our unique experiment has become a reference in science, management and knowledge and an example for others to follow and benefit from.

On the other hand, a dissatisfied person brings a big harm to himself and to those around him. Discontentment impacts one’s health and social environment leading to desperation, which is like a communicable disease; once spread, it deteriorates the lives of people who will consequently be busy blaming each others. Fortunately, the UAE is protected against this plague and Emirati people need to maintain the positive energy they possess and get rid of all the negative emissions.

In this context, it necessary to remember that organizations are like nations or any human groups; once misery and disagreement prevails among its members, all their efforts and energy will not be directed to success, progress, good planning and efficient performance, but will rather be focused on politics, complaints, wasting energy and thus impede their progress and development.

Leaderships are the pillars for their organizations and the hearts for their nations. People are naturally distributed into workplaces, and we, Emiratis, love work. Unemployment rate in the UAE is almost zero; not to mention job opportunities offered by the UAE to expatriates living on its lands. That said, we must underline the importance of organizations’ leaderships as their primary responsibility lies in positive interaction and emission of positive energy among employees, directors and work teams.

In his brief speech, His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum has given us a priceless advice. It is not just a speech that we joyfully listen to and forget in a while. It is an integrated action plan which needs a precise scientific analysis to figure out how to adjust the spiritual status and positive energy among employees and in the field of service delivery. It is not an easy task for a leader to get adapted to smiling, drawing thereby the smile on the faces of employees and customers. It needs persistent efforts to build a culture and enormous energy to emit positive spirit in the surrounding environment, as well as love, respect and positive attitude. These should lead to accomplishment, innovation and satisfaction.

To enable this positive attitude, institutional leaders should be characterized by tolerance and should lay the foundations of administrative governance and justice whose main pillar is ‘rewarding achievers and depriving the fruitless’. Although this principle seems to be somewhat rigorous, however, on long term, it helps promote responsibility, protect positive employees from reclusion and keep them energetic. Being just, requires giving employees what they deserve, which is something that can be achieved only through a fair assessment of their achievements, work conditions, authorities and knowledge available for them to accomplish their tasks.

It is also noteworthy that teamwork is a vital means that help unleash best capability of employees, and human beings in general. By nature, human beings tend to socialize; they speak, think and have feelings and emotions that make them interact in different ways with their surrounding environment including work mates.

Hence, an organizational leader needs to ensure maintaining positive atmosphere to work teams and carefully select their leaderships and members. Then, comes empowerment and training employees on how to achieve goals through teamwork techniques and appropriate ways to deal with people.

A proficient leader is the one who can make the best out of his/her team in all conditions in order to overcome obstacles, conflicts and all sources of negative energy that may exist in the team itself and which can destroy its intended mission to achieve organizational strategic and operational goals.

In this context, it is necessary to underline the serious impact that may result from the failure of the teamwork. It is the core responsibility of the higher leadership of any organization to ensure appropriate selection of team leaders, setting out the team’s objectives and provide the environment and resources that help the team to achieve the set out goals.

In all these equations, human resources are the most vital elements. They get attracted to, sympathize or contradict with each other leading a number of outcomes. It is the human being who generates either positive or negative energy.

Human resources scientists highlighted the importance of considering this fact while forming and organizing teams. This necessitates maintaining work norms, respect and cordiality between employees, fighting against rumors and Machiavellian attitudes, thus enabling a governance environment based on respect, responsiveness and cooperation among all members.

An organizational leader should not place contradictory and trouble making employees together or within the same teams, and should always assign them roles and responsibilities that suit their capabilities, enhance their knowledge and ensure financial benefits for them. Leaderships should also strive to maintain positive spirit as a driving power towards achieving progress and prosperity to both employees and the community.

Satisfaction is the key to positive energy, and in this context, it is best to conclude by commemorating words of our great Prophet Mohammed, Peace be Upon him, when he said: “How wonderful is the situation of the believer, for all his affairs are good. If something good happens to him, he shows gratitude for it and that is good for him; if something bad happens to him, he bears it with patience, and that is good for him.”. These words urge us to be optimistic, never be depressed and always expect a bright future.

 

H.E. Dr. Eng. Ali Mohamed Al Khouri - Director General of Emirates ID
Just a moment...
Thanks for your feedback.

Send to Friend

Post Your Comment

Just a moment...
Your comment has been submitted and will be publish after being approved.
1 of 0
0 comment
First
Last

Close

خيارات الوصول

استمع لهذه الصفحة

حدد اللون

القراءة الليلية

إعادة ضبط جميع الإعدادات

المساعدة التفاعلية

عندما استسلمت ألمانيا للحلفاء في العام 1945، كانت حطام دولة وشعبها محبطاً، بعد أن خسرت أكثر من 10 ملايين قتيل عسكري ومدني، وكان لا يزال 5 ملايين من أبنائها معتقلين في سيبيريا وسجون أوروبا، عدا عن مدنها التي سوّيت بالأرض وبنيتها التحتية التي دّمرت وطرقاتها التي حُرثت، ومصانعها وآلاتها وعلمائها التي حملتها قوات الحلفاء معها.

في ذلك الحين، كان جُل الشعب الألماني قد أصبح من النساء (بنسبة 82% للمرحلة من 18-40 سنة)، وارتفعت معدلات الانتحار إلى مستويات غير مسبوقة…

ولكن بعد ثلاثة شهور، علت صرخات (النهوض من القاع)، الصادرة من نساء الشعب في غيابٍ تامٍ للحكومة. وبدأت النساءُ والشيوخُ بجمع الأنقاضِ لإعادة بناء البيوت، وجَمْع الأوراق والكتب من تحت الأنقاض لفتح المدارس.

لقد لجأت النساء إلى كتابة شعارات تبثُّ الأمل، وتحثّ على العمل على حطام الجدران، مثل (لا تنتظر حقّك).. (إفعل ما تستطيع).. (إزرع الأمل قبل القمح).

وخلال الفترة الممتدة من العام 1945 وحتى العام 1955، تم إعادة بناء البيوت والطرقات والمدارس، ومن العام 1955 إلى العام 1965 تم بناء المصانع واستقبال 4 ملايين عامل من تركيا ومناطق ألمانيا الشرقية، حينئذ تغيرت الشعارات على الجدران إلى (جدية وأمل).

أما في الفترة من العام 1965 إلى 1975، فقد ظهر رجالُ الأعمال الوطنيين، وتكفّل كلٌّ منهم بتدريب 50 شاباً، فعادت ألمانيا لتصبح قوة اقتصادية عظمى.

ومع تنامي قوتها الاقتصادية، سقط (جدار برلين)، وأصبحت ألمانيا أقوى اقتصادٍ أوروبيّ، بعد أن كانت تفتقد إلى الكهرباء لتشغيل الراديو، وبعد أن كان شعبها لا يملك النقود لشراء الصحف، وكانت جدرانها المحطمة وسيلة الإعلام الوحيدة، لبثّ الأمل وخلق روح إيجابية جبّارة، مكّنت شعب مُحبط ومحطّم من أن يصنع معجزة اقتصادية عالمية.

إن هذه المقدمة كانت ضرورية للوقوف أمام كلمات صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم نائب رئيس الدولة رئيس مجلس الوزراء حاكم دبي (رعاه الله)، التي خاطب بها ممثلي وسائل الإعلام المحلي والعالمي بعد فوز دبي بتنظيم معرض أكسبو الدولي 2020، حيث أعرب سموه عن أمله في أن تتجاوز الشعوب العربية ما قد يعترض طريقها من تحديات في سبيل تحقيق التقدم الذي تطمح إليه.

وقد شدّد سموه على أهمية توافر عناصر العزيمة والإرادة والروح الإيجابية للتغلب على المعوقات الحالية، قائلاً: “أملنا أن يسود الأمن والأمان كافة أنحاء عالمنا العربي. ونقول للدول العربية إن الإصرار والإرادة والروح الإيجابية عناصر مهمة من أجل تحقيق التطوير الإيجابي المنشود، فالنهر يواصل جريانه متجاوزاً ما قد يعتري مجراه من عراقيل، فهو يغيّر مساره ويواصل تدفقه من جديد، ونحن نتمنى كل السعادة والرخاء للجميع”.

إن التقدّم والرفاهية وحسن سياسة وإدارة الأمم تعتمد وتخاطب في الأساس الجماهير العريضة بلغة الأمل والإيجابية، التي يسندها ويقيم دعائمها المصداقية، وهي اللغة التي تستجيب وتتفاعل مع الجماهير التي يقع على عاتقها حمل الراية والإيمان بالهدف والاستقامة عليه، لتتمكن من صنع المعجزات. ولا شك أن التجربة البشرية مليئة بتلك الأمثلة الدالّة على قدرة الروح الإيجابية والطاقة الفاعلة على بناء الأوطان والمؤسسات، وتخطّي حواجز الزمن بالمقارنة مع الأمم الأخرى.

ومن خلال نظرة سريعة، وحتى من الوجهة السياسية، فإن الإنسان السعيد هو الإنسان الذي يُمكن الاعتماد عليه في بناء الأوطان، ولو كان فقيراً. ولأن مقابلة المعاني تبرزها وتوضحها، وجب ذكر النقيض، فالإنسان البائس يهدم ما حوله، ويسرّب يأسه وقنوطه وطاقته السلبية لتخرّب وتدمر ما حوله، فيصبح دون أن يدري عنصرا سلبياً يقود العجلة للخلف، حتى ولو كان مرفّها ثرياً لا ينقصه شيء. وهنا يكمن جوهر القضية ومفتاح النجاح.

إن الروح الإيجابية والمستبشرة والمحبّة والمُوقنة بالنجاح، هي التي تُحقّق النصر والتقدّم والسعادة، وتذلّل العقبات، وبها يسوّد التعاون والبهجة، وهي كنز الله “عز وجل” لعباده، لو عرفه من افتقده لحارب من أجله. ونحن في دولة الإمارات، نمتلك هذا الكنز بسبب إيماننا العميق وقيادتنا الرشيدة ودولتنا الطموحة التي وحّدها المصير والتاريخ والعقل بحكمة آبائنا العظام المؤسسين للاتحاد، بقيادة المغفور له الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان “طيب الله ثراه”.

لقد كانت البداية مع اليقين والأمل والطاقة الايجابية التي انتشرت في ربوع وأصقاع الوطن وحلّت أينما وجد الإنسان، فتحلّى بها سكان الدولة من مواطنين ومقيمين فيها، حتى بات كل من يعيش على هذه الأرض الطيبة يُوقن في قرارة نفسه، أن التقدّم والرخاء واندفاع المسيرة الوطنية إلى الأمام بهذا الزخم غير المشهود، هي مثار إعجاب العالم أجمع، الذي بات يؤمن بقدرة هذه الأمة على حمل رسائل المحبة والسلام والرخاء والعلم والتعلّم لمختلف الشعوب والأمم الناظرة إلى تجربة دولتنا الفريدة، التي أصبحت بمثابة درس علمي وإداري ومعرفي، ونموذجاً مهماً يمكن للآخرين اتباعه والاستفادة منه.

إن الضرر الذي يجلبه الإنسان على نفسه وعلى من حوله نتيجة (عدم الرضا) كثيرة وخطيرة، فمثالبه تصيب صحة المرء ومحيطه الاجتماعي، وتؤدي إلى القنوط، وهو مرض أشبه بالوباء، لو انتشر وعمّ ساءت الأحوال وفقدت الآمال وانشغل الناس ببعضهم يلومون ويتلاومون، وقد كفا الله تعالى الإمارات وشعبها من هذا البلاء، وكفى بها نعمة لو كنا من الموقنين، أن نحافظ على الروح الإيجابية وننفض عنا أي شحنات سلبية.

ولا يغيب عنا أن المؤسسات كالأمم وكأي جماعة بشرية، لو حل فيها البؤس والتباؤس والتشاكس والمخالفة بين أفرادها وموظفيها، فإن جهودهم وطاقاتهم لن تنطلق من أجل النجاح والتقدم والتخطيط السليم والأداء المنجز والفعال، بل ستذهب سُداً في كيد المكائد وصك الشكاوى وتشتيت الطاقات والعزيمة لليمين واليسار والخلف، وتعيقه عن الحركة للأمام.

ولا شك أن القيادات في كافة المؤسسات هم لبنة وقلب الوطن، حيث أن الناس والسكان بطبيعتهم موزعين على مواقع العمل، ونحن شعب عامل تكاد تختفي بين صفوفه البطالة، ناهيك عن فرص العمل التي توفرها الإمارات للأشقاء العرب ولكثير من أبناء شعوب العالم على أرضها. ومن هنا، يأتي التأكيد على أهمية دور قيادات المؤسسات، لأن مسؤولية التفاعل الإيجابي وبث الطاقة الإيجابية بين الموظفين والمدراء وفرق العمل، تقع على عاتقهم بالدرجة الأولى.

لقد أسدى لنا صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم “حفظه الله”، نصيحة لا تقدر بثمن بكلمته الموجزة، وهي ليست مجرّد كلمة نسمعها ثم نطرب لها وننساها، بل هي خطة عمل متكاملة، وتحتاج لمراجعة علمية دقيقة لتحديد كيفية ضبط إيقاع الحالة المعنوية والطاقة الإيجابية بين الموظفين وفي مواقع العمل وفي ميدان تقديم الخدمة للمتعاملين، فإن تعوّد الابتسامة على الرغم من بساطتها، ورسمها على وجه الموظف والمتعامل، ليس بالأمر السهل، ويحتاج إلى جهد دؤوب وبناء ثقافة وقدرات هائلة، لتشع على المبتسم ومن حوله طاقة إيجابية يملؤها الحب والاحترام والإيجابية، وتساعد على الإنجاز والإبداع والرضا.

ولتمكين تلك الروحية الإيجابية يتوجّب على القائد المؤسسي، أن يتحلى بروح التسامح، ويرسخ أسس الحوكمة الإدارية والعدالة، والتي من أهم ركائزها أن (يُعطي من يستحق ويمنع من لا يستحق)، وتلك الجملة وإن بدا فيها شيء من الصرامة، فإنها تساعد على المدى الطويل على تحمل المسؤولية وحماية الموظفين ذوي الطاقة الإيجابية من الانزواء، وحفظ طاقتهم متقدة معطاءة، لا تخبو جذوتها ولا ينحني عمودها، وذلك أن مقتضى العدالة إعطاء كل ذي حق حقه، وهو أمر لا يتحقق إلا من خلال التقييم العادل للإنجاز والظروف التي يعمل بها الموظف، ومدى ما أتيح له من قدرات وصلاحيات وعلوم ومعارف لينجز المهام الموكلة إليه.

كما أنه لا بد من التنويه إلى أهمية فرق العمل كإحدى أهم الوسائل التي يمكن من خلالها إطلاق أفضل مكامن وقدرات الموظفين أو البشر بشكل  عام، فالإنسان بطبعه كائن اجتماعي وناطق ومفكر ويملك أحاسيس وعواطف تجعله يتفاعل بطرق مختلفة مع الحلقات الاجتماعية من حوله، ومنها فرق العمل الجماعي.

ومن هنا، يتوجب على القائد المؤسسي الانتباه إلى ضرورة توفير الأجواء الإيجابية لعمل الفرق وحسن اختيار قياداتها وأعضائها، ومن ثم تمكينهم وتدريبهم على تحقيق الأهداف من خلال تعلّم فنون وديناميكيات العمل الجماعي وطبيعة التعامل الإنساني.

إن ربان السفينة الماهر هو من يتمكن من استثمار أفضل طاقات فريق عمله في شتى الظروف المؤاتية، ليتجاوز العقبات والمشاحنات والخلافات وأسباب ومكامن الطاقة السلبية التي قد تنطلق من فريق العمل الجماعي نفسه، والذي كان الهدف من وراء تأسيسه عكس ذلك تماماً، أي الاستفادة منه وتحقيق الأهداف المؤسسية، سواء كانت استراتيجية أو تشغيلية.

ولا بد من التنبيه إلى خطورة انقلاب بوصلة فرق العمل الجماعي للخلف، وهذا الأمر يبقى في صميم مسؤوليات القيادة المؤسسية العليا ومهامها، سواء عند اختيار قيادة فريق العمل، أو عند تحديد أهدافه، أو عند توفير منظومة وموارد العمل التي تكفل للفريق النجاح.

ويبقى العنصر البشري، وهو العنصر الفاعل في تلك المعادلات المختلفة، وهو الذي ينجذب ويتعاطف أو يتنافر مع أقرانه من البشر، والذي ينتج عنه مجموعة من النتائج، وهو الذي يولّد الطاقة الايجابية أو الطاقة السلبية العكسية.

وقد أوضح علماء الموارد البشرية أهمية الوعي بتلك الحقيقة عند تشكيل الفرق وتنظيمها، وهو ما يستوجب الحفاظ على أصول العمل وأجواء الاحترام والمحبة بين الموظفين ومحاربة الشائعات وإغلاق أبواب التسلق وفرص التصرف الانتهازية، وصولاً إلى تمكين بيئة محوكمة يملؤها الاحترام والتجاوب والتعاضد بين الجميع.

ولا يغفل القائد المؤسسي عن وجوب عدم جمع الأضداد ومثيري الشغب الإداري مع بعضهم البعض، أو ضمن الفرق الجماعية، والحرص على توجيه طاقات وأدوار الموظفين نحو ما يلائم قدراتهم واستيعابهم ويحقق النفع العلمي والإنجاز والرضا المادي لهم، مع السعي دائماً وأبداً إلى الحفاظ على الروح الإيجابية كقوة دافعة وطاقة هائلة قادرة بعون الله تعالى على تحقيق التقدم والرخاء للجميع وللمجتمع.

إن الرضا هو مفتاح الطاقة الإيجابية. وخير خاتمة لهذا المقال، هو قول خير البشر، سيدنا محمد صلوات الله تعالى وسلامه عليه “عجبا لأمر المؤمن إن أمره كله خير، وليس ذاك لأحد إلا للمؤمن؛ إن أصابته سرّاء شكر؛ فكان خيراً له، وإن أصابته ضرّاء صبر؛ فكان خيراً له”. وتلك أعظم دعوة للتفاؤل ونبذ القنوط والاستبشار بالخير.

بقلم/سعادة الدكتور المهندس علي محمد الخوري/ مدير عام هيئة الإمارات للهوية (نقلاً عن جريدة الخليج الإماراتية)

انتظر لحظة...
شكراً على آرائكم

أرسل الى صديق

اكتب تعليقك

انتظر لحظة...
تم إرسال تعليقك وسيتم نشره بعد الموافقة عليه.
1 من0
0تعليق
الأول
الأخير