Close

Accessibility options

Listen to page

Color themes

Night reading

Reset all settings

Virtual Tour

It was at the beginning of the seventies of the past century that His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum toured the city and examined the conditions of people by land and air as we saw in a footage broadcasted yesterday by the Media Office through a channel for Sheikh Mohammed on YouTube showing HH flying a helicopter on a tour over Dubai.

At the time, he was neither a ruler nor a crown prince. He was the Minister of Defense, but he sought to know by himself the needs of people, and thus he approached them and still does. Rising in positions did not change him, but his actions sprang from his own beliefs rather than pretentious actsto seek fame

I meant to start my article by mentioning the time period when HH was examining the conditions of citizens in a desert area that looked remote. At that time, the human rights organizations knew nothing about this area or this part of the world. There were no social network sites; there was no Twitter; there was no Facebook. There were only rulers who loved their people and people who were loyal to their land and rulers.

The field trips and the open door policy are the main elements. The interaction of the ruler with his people was what that generation experienced. Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid has pursued the policy of his father and ancestors in communicating with his people, understanding their needs, reaching out to them, visiting their houses to fulfill their needs, giving them rides in his plane to their remote areas in the seventies and he still drives them in his car. In that footage, we saw him talking with an old man and drinking coffee. Some years ago, we saw him with that old man sitting together on a bare floor. He asked that man about what he needed 40 years ago and he built a new house for him and furnished it some years ago. This is only one example but HH’s acts of benevolence are countless. He did not do that for fame or glory, but because he is a ruler who performs his responsibilities and the duties entailed by his position. He gives people their rights as granted by the State.

Neither he nor Sheikh Zayedwerefortunetellers. They had insight. Zayed did not listen to what experts had to say when they warned him about desert reclamation. They were later amazed at the different types of plants and trees that grew throughout Abu Dhabi. Mohammed bin Rashid was inspecting muddy and empty areas by air but he was aware that this land will one day carry huge projects transforming Dubai from a small unknown city into a developed city competing with and exceling over major cities worldwide.

Our rulers are humans like us. This is their main feature that many are missing. They are humans who walk among us, examine people’s conditions, sit with citizens, eat their food, celebrate with them and share their grief. They are also aware that there are changes and gaps which they continuously seek to adapt to and fill.

By: Samy Al Riyamy, Emarat Al Youm 1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars Average rating: 1 from 1 users Share
Just a moment...
Thanks for your feedback.

Send to Friend

Post Your Comment

Just a moment...
Your comment has been submitted and will be publish after being approved.
1 of 0
0 comment
First
Last

Close

خيارات الوصول

استمع لهذه الصفحة

حدد اللون

القراءة الليلية

إعادة ضبط جميع الإعدادات

المساعدة التفاعلية

كان ذلك في بداية السبعينات، دأب صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم على التجول في المدينة، وتفقد أحوال المواطنين، براً وجواً، كما رأينا في لقطات مصورة بثها، أمس، المكتب الإعلامي عبر القناة الخاصة بالشيخ محمد على “يوتيوب”، يظهر فيها سموه متجولاً بطائرة مروحية يقودها بنفسه في أنحاء الإمارة.

لم يكن حينها حاكماً، كما لم يكن ولياً للعهد، بل كان وزيراً للدفاع، لكنه كان يتلمس احتياجات الناس، وكان قريباً جداً منهم، ولا يزال كذلك، لم تغيره المناصب، لأن ما يفعله نابع من قناعة ذاتية، وليس فعلاً مصطنعاً لهدف دعائي أو أهداف أخرى.

تعمدت أن أبدأ مقالتي بالفترة الزمنية التي ظهر من خلالها سموه وهو يتفقد أحوال مواطنين في منطقة صحراوية، يبدو أنها نائية بمقاييس ذلك الزمان، فلم تكن حينها المنظمات المعنية بحقوق الإنسان تعرف شيئاً عن هذه المنطقة، وهذا الجزء من العالم، ولم يكن هناك ربيع أو خريف أو شتاء عربي أو غير عربي، كما لم تكن هناك مواقع تواصل اجتماعي، “تويتر” لم يكن حاضراً، و”فيس بوك” لم يصنع بعد، لم يكن هناك سوى حكام يحبون شعبهم، وشعب مخلص لأرضه وحكامه.

الجولات الميدانية وسياسة الباب المفتوح، هما الركيزتان الأساسيتان، واختلاط الحاكم بالشعب هو الميزة التي تربى عليها ذلك الجيل، ومحمد بن راشد كان ولا يزال يمارس سياسة أبيه وأجداده في التواصل مع الناس، وتفهم احتياجاتهم، والنزول إليهم، والتجول بين بيوتهم لتلبية مطالبهم، وصلهم بالطائرة في أماكنهم الوعرة في السبعينات، ولا يزال يصلهم بسيارته وحيداً في أحيان كثيرة، رأيناه في هذا الفيلم المصور يتبادل الحديث مع مسن ويشرب معه القهوة، ورأيناه قبل سنوات مع ذلك “الشايب” يجلس معه على أرض خالية من أي فراش، سأل ذاك المسن عن حاجته قبل 40 عاماً، وبنى لهذا المسن بيتاً جديداً مؤثثاً قبل سنوات قليلة، وما بين هذا وذاك، آلاف وآلاف من الناس، وآلاف وآلاف من قضاء الحاجات، لم يفعل ذلك رياءً ولا طلباً لشهرة أو مجد، بل لأنه حاكم يؤدي مسؤوليات وواجبات الحكم، ويعطي الناس حقوقهم التي كفلتها لهم الدولة.

لم يكن مطلعاً على الغيب، كما لم يكن زايد كذلك، لكنهما صاحبا رؤية وفكر، فزايد لم يسمع كلام الخبراء الذين حذّروه من زراعة الصحراء، قبل أن يندهشوا لاحقاً من أنواع الثمار والأشجار التي نبتت في أنحاء أبوظبي، ومحمد بن راشد كان يتفقد بالطائرة مناطق خالية موحلة، لكنه كان مدركاً أن هذه الأرض ستتحول يوماً إلى ما مشروعات عملاقة، تنقل دبي من مدينة صغيرة غير معروفة إلى مدينة راقية تنافس أكبر مدن العالم، وتتفوق عليها أيضاً.

وبكل تأكيد فحكامنا أيضاً ليسوا ملائكة، ولا هم آلهة، بل هم بشر مثلنا، هذه ميزتهم الحقيقية التي يفتقدها كثيرون، إنهم بشر يتجولون بيننا، ويتفقدون أحوال الناس، يجلسون في مجالس المواطنين، ويأكلون طعامهم، يفرحون معهم، ويحزنون معهم، ويدركون أيضاً أن هناك متغيرات ونواقص، ويعملون على استكمالها، وهذا هو الفرق.

 

بقلم: سامي الريامي, صحيفة الإمارات اليوم

انتظر لحظة...
شكراً على آرائكم

أرسل الى صديق

اكتب تعليقك

انتظر لحظة...
تم إرسال تعليقك وسيتم نشره بعد الموافقة عليه.
1 من0
0تعليق
الأول
الأخير