Close

Accessibility options

Listen to page

Color themes

Night reading

Reset all settings

Virtual Tour

No one can deny that our State has made human development its ultimate goal based on a clear vision, faith and persistence. In this context, there were many perspectives on leadership and the skills a leader in any organization should possess.

Although I am among the ones who believe that leadership skills can be learned and acquired and a person may develop his or her intrinsic skills in the right direction so that they can direct a group of people to achieve a certain goal, at the same time, I believe that influential leaders in any organization or department are rare either from a psychological or physical energy aspect. Difference and distinction between human beings is a natural law and the different skills among people are an order used by God to assign roles to people to balance the universe. Each person is created with certain capacities; if everyone became a leader, who will lead them then?

If you look around you to read people’s biographies and tendencies, you will find that true leadership may come to a person without their will or desire. It is not a coincidence but a big part of it was intrinsic. For example, you may find that this same person among his siblings in his small family is the center and is the consultant; his family members seek his advice in their affairs and in hard times and for decision-making; he is the one who takes initiative before being asked to do something; he is the one who is always concerned with others’ affairs; he reaches out to them with assistance without intervention; He is always ready to give without waiting to take.

Look around you and you will find that God each family has one such person whereas the rest of the family members enjoy being leaded by others and are very irritated if they are asked to make crucial decisions. Such persons with intrinsic characteristics are the ones who assume leadership in their organizations or the projects they run and the tasks they handle. They are usually successful in these roles as well.

There is no doubt that management differs from leadership. It is sufficient for a successful manager to carry out instructions accurately and diligently and is fully satisfied to do that. A manager can always be relied on in that. A leader carries a vision; he is risk-taking; he has a sense to see what others cannot see; he may foresee opportunities for success that others cannot foresee; he is also capable of making decisions that require calculated risk that others try to avoid.

Although leaders are human who are correct and make mistakes, but their regret is positive and not negative. Positive regret occurs when an individual makes a decision that might be wrong. Negative regret is regretting not taking a certain decision or leaving behind an opportunity for success without making use of it. There is a huge difference between the two types of regret.

Hence, a leader is the one who has enough courage to bear the responsibility for making crucial decisions that may affect that future of the organization in case they fail and may form an unprecedented transition and advancement if they fail. Many people try to avoid that preferring safety and fearing the future and satisfied with their current state. Calculated risk is an integral part of a leader’s character.

The true leader of any institution is always on the hunt for the challenge to achieve goals that others may find as impossible or even beyond what has ever been imagined, whereas he sees them as possible and achievable. He is not satisfied with only achieving the goal, but he seeks to achieve goals with much distinction.

In my opinion, a leader does not talk much about his previous achievements only, but once he finishes reaching a goal or a milestone, he aspires to achieve more. He lives in an ongoing battle of success, in which he does not assess himself and his achievements in comparison with other surrounding institutions but primarily on a scale of challenging himself.

The true leader is certain that people who work with him, and not for him, have momentums that need to be let out if he can use the keys to their characters well. He is also certain that each task assigned to any of his surrounding individuals is a valuable task, however simple it might be and that individuals regardless of their professional levels, have ideas that should be appreciated and benefitted from.

Hence, a leader listens more than he talks and does not talk except after listening to all points of view without discrimination. He prioritizes the interest of the organization before favoring a particular opinion. He does not take decisions before consulting those around him and his decisions are not necessarily a choice from alternatives placed before him. His decisions might be contrary to suggested alternatives as long as they are supported by logic and reasoning. At the same time, he has the courage to back out of a decision he made that does not carry an interest or will lead to unfavorable results for the organization.

The true leader has the courage to apologize if he makes a mistake. He is human after all. Admitting a mistake is one of the major elements of success. It is the wall of trust that rises day after day between him and his team.

The true leader’s relationship with his employees is not restricted to the work environment with its orders and prohibitions and Dos and Don’ts. He realizes that his employees are human beings who can also be happy and sad; hence, he is keen on sharing their happiness and grief. Emotions are always present in his interactions with others.

The true leader of any organization is approachable and realizes that a genuine part of his duties is the making of qualifies leaders to bear responsibility after him so that the journey of success may continue.

Despite all that, I stress once again that leadership skills can be acquired and learned by gaining experience. These leadership skills are not impossible to acquire and many of us can do it, but only few of us can reach creativity.

 

Dean of Faculty of Information, Mass Communication and Humanities – Ajman University of Science and Technology

Note: The article in published in Al Bayan newspaper

 

 

By Dr. Khaled Al Khaja
Just a moment...
Thanks for your feedback.

Send to Friend

Post Your Comment

Just a moment...
Your comment has been submitted and will be publish after being approved.
1 of 0
0 comment
First
Last

Close

خيارات الوصول

استمع لهذه الصفحة

حدد اللون

القراءة الليلية

إعادة ضبط جميع الإعدادات

المساعدة التفاعلية

لا يستطيع منصفٌ إلا أن يؤكد أنّ دولتنا قد جعلت من التنمية البشرية هدفاً أسمى، بوضوح رؤية وإيمان ودأب تحدث عنها القاصي قبل الداني، ومن هنا تعددت وجهات النظر حول القيادة والمهارات التي يجب أن تتوافر في من يضطلع بدور قيادي في أية مؤسسة.

ورغم أنني من الذين يؤمنون بأن المهارات القيادية يمكن تعلمها، ومن الجائز أن يطور الإنسان مهارته التي وهبه الله إياها، في الاتجاه الصحيح ليتمكن من توجيه فريق من الناس لتحقيق هدف معين، إلا أنني في ذات الوقت من المؤمنين بأن القادة المؤثرين في أي مؤسسة أو دائرة، هم عملة نادرة أو هم هبة من الله يمنحها لبعض من الناس لتحمل تبعات قد لا يقدر عليها غيرهم، سواء من الناحية النفسية أو الطاقة البدنية، والاختلاف والتمايز بين البشر هو قانون كوني، واختلاف القدرات بين الناس هو كذلك نظام؛ أراد الله به أن تتوزع أدوار الناس لينضبط الكون، فكل ميسر لما خلق له كل على قدر طاقته، وإلا لو أن كل البشر أصبحوا قادة فمن سيقودون إذا؟

وإذا نظرت حولك لتقرأ سير الناس وميولهم، ستجد أن القيادة الحقيقية قد يجد الفرد فيها نفسه، وقد تكون دون إرادة منه أو رغبة فيها، وهي ليست وليدة المصادفة ولكن جانباً كبيراً منها جاء معه إلى الدنيا، تجده بين إخوانه وأخواته في أسرته الصغيرة، هو المركز وهو من يستشيره باقي أفراد أسرته في شؤونهم، ويلجؤون إليه في الملمات ووقت الكرب والشدة وعند الرغبة في اتخاذ القرار. وهو من يبادر قبل أن يطلب منه، كما أنه المهموم دوماً بشؤون الآخرين، مندفعا إليهم للمساعدة دون تطفل، كما أنك تجده القادر على العطاء بنفسية عالية دون مَنٍّ أو انتظار رد.

انظر حولك سوف تجد أن الله سبحانه وتعالى قد حبى كل أسرة بنفر قليل من هؤلاء دون باقي الأفراد، في حين تجد غيرهم يستهلكهم الشأن الشخصي، ويستمتعون بقيادة غيرهم لها، وينزعجون غاية الانزعاج إذا طلب منهم أن يتصدروا لأخذ قرارات مصيرية. هؤلاء النبت الطيب بهذه الصفات القدرية ـ في جانب كبير منها في أغلبهم ـ هم الذين يتولون القيادة في المؤسسات التي ينتسبون إليها، أو ما يديرونه من مشروعات وما يحملونه من مهام، ويتميزون فيها كذلك.

ولا شك أن الإدارة تختلف عن القيادة، فالمدير الناجح يكتفي بتنفيذ التعليمات بدقة وحذق، ويرضى كل الرضى بذلك، ويمكن الاعتماد عليه دائماً في ذلك، أما القائد فهو صاحب رؤية ومقتحم، ولديه حس يستطيع أن يرى به ما لا يراه الآخرون، وقد يتنبأ بفرص للنجاح يعجز عنها الآخرون، كما أنه قادر على اتخاذ قرارات تتطلب قدراً من المغامرة المحسوبة، يتراجع عنها غيره.

ورغم أنه بشر يصيب ويخطئ، إلا أن ندمه دائماً ندم إيجابي وليس ندماً سلبياً. فالندم الإيجابي هو الذي يحدث عندما يقدم الفرد على اتخاذ قرار قد يكون خاطئا، أما الندم السلبي فهو الندم على عدم اتخاذ قرار بعينه أو ترك فرصة للنجاح لم يتم اقتناصها، وفرق كبير بين الاثنين.

لذا فإن القائد هو من يملك شجاعة تحمل مسؤولية اتخاذ قرارات مصيرية، قد تؤثر على مستقبل المؤسسة في حالة فشلها، وقد تكون نقلة غير مسبوقة وتحدث تطوراً يجعلها في المقدمة إذا نجحت. وهذا ما يبعد عنه الكثيرين، إيثاراً للسلامة وخوفاً من القادم وخنوعاً لما هم فيه؛ فالمغامرة المحسوبة جزء أصيل من شخصية القائد.

القائد الحق لأية مؤسسة، هو من يبحث دائماً عن التحدي لتحقيق أهداف قد يرى آخرون أنها ضرب من الخيال، بينما يرى هو أنها ممكنة التحقيق، وهو لا يرضى بمجرد تحقيق الهدف وفقط، بل يسعى لتحقيق الأهداف بكثير من التميز.

القائد عندي هو من لا يتحدث كثيراً عن إنجازاته السابقة وفقط، ولكنه فور أن ينتهي من تحقيق هدف أو مرحلة من النجاح يتطلع لتحقيق غيرها، يعيش في معركة نجاح مستمرة، وهو في هذا لا يقيس نفسه وإنجازاته بما يحيط به من مؤسسات أخرى، ولكنه في تحدٍّ مع ذاته أولاً.

القائد الحقيقي هو من يوقن بأن لدى العاملين معه ـ وليس لديه ـ طاقات يمكن تفجيرها إذا أحسن استخدام مفاتيح شخصياتهم، ويوقن كذلك بأن كل عمل يوكل لأي فرد من المحيطين به، هو عمل كبير في قيمته مهما كان بسيطاً، وأن لدى الأفراد مهما كانت درجاتهم الوظيفية، أفكاراً يجب تقديرها والاستفادة منها.

لذا فإن القائد هو من يستمع أكثر مما يتحدث، ولا يتحدث إلا بعد أن ينصت لكافة وجهات النظر دون تمييز، ويعلي مصلحة المؤسسة مها كانت قبل أن يتحيز لرأي معين، ولا يتخذ قرارات قبل أن يستشير المحيطين به، وقراراته لا تكون بالضرورة اختياراً من بدائل مطروحة أمامه، بل قد تكون مخالفة لما هو مطروح ما دامت تدعمها الحجة وقوة المنطق، وفي الوقت ذاته يملك شجاعة التراجع عن رأي أخذه ليست فيه مصلحة أو سيؤدي إلى نتائج غير طيبة للمؤسسة.

القائد الحقيقي يملك شجاعة الاعتذار إن أخطأ، فهو ليس معصوماً، وإنما هو في النهاية إنسان يخطئ ويصيب. وهذا الاعتراف عند الخطأ، من أهم مؤهلات النجاح، وهو جدار الثقة الذي يعلو يوما بعد يوم بينه وبين فريق عمله.

القائد الحقيقي لا تقتصر علاقته بالعاملين معه على بيئة العمل، بما فيها من أوامر ونواهٍ، وليس في فمه غير كلمتي: افعل ولا تفعل.. ولكن هو من يدرك أن المحيطين به بشر يفرحون أحياناً ويحزنون أخرى، لذا فهو الحريص على مشاركتهم في أفراحهم وأتراحهم، والبعد الإنساني حاضر في تعاملاته دائماً.

القائد الحقيقي لأية مؤسسة، هو من يقرب منه أصحاب الحكمة مهما كان اختلافه معهم، ولا يفضل أهل الثقة على أهل الخبرة، كما يدرك أن جزءاً أصيلاً من مهامه، هو صناعة قادة مؤهلين لتحمل المسؤولية من بعده، لتستمر مسيرة النجاح.

ورغم ذلك كله، أقول إن المهارات القيادية يمكن اكتسابها وتعلمها عبر تراكم الخبرات، فتلك المهارات ليست أمراً معجزاً.. فالكثير منا يستطيع أن يكتسب المهارات القيادية، ولكن قلة يصلون فيها إلى مرحلة الإبداع.

 

ملاحظة: المقالة منشورة في “جريدة البيان”

بقلم: د. خالد الخاجة , عميد كلية المعلومات والإعلام والعلوم الإنسانية ــ جامعة عجمان للعلوم والتكنولوجيا

انتظر لحظة...
شكراً على آرائكم

أرسل الى صديق

اكتب تعليقك

انتظر لحظة...
تم إرسال تعليقك وسيتم نشره بعد الموافقة عليه.
1 من0
0تعليق
الأول
الأخير