Close

Accessibility options

Listen to page

Color themes

Night reading

Reset all settings

Virtual Tour

19/05/2013

Many of government and private entities in different domains are not worried much about topics such as information security and cyber crime. This might be because of the fear workers and supervisors in this field feel when they think of hackers and those who might threaten, destroy or manipulate data and secrets inside their fortresses.

This fear seems logical in light of hundreds of incidents that happen every day around the world where hackers behind computer screen reach anywhere in the world. Authorities and entities in different domains remain in a race to face these challenges. It is a never ending battle as long as its field is the spacious cyberspace that is open to all human beings.

It is no doubt that cyber crimes have become a reality of undesirable repercussions from personal moral and social damage and its destruction of societal trust among people, to destabilization of security and stability up to the threat to economies of large enterprises or even countries and the effect of that on the global economy. There is a direct relation between development in the computer field and the increasing numbers of cyber crimes.

Cyber crimes vary between physical crimes such as stealing ATM machines to email messages asking for help in releasing money confiscated in foreign countries with a promise of a percentage from the amount, to messages telling the email account holders that they have won prizes and asking for their bank account details. Another type has a cultural side where the criminal steals the intellectual property rights and ascribes them to himself without the victim’s consent. These crimes are added to the political, economic and sexual crimes that spread extremism and looseness across the World Wide Web.

It is no doubt that the technological advancements in the UAE have affirmed the need to set laws to combat these crimes and safeguard against the manipulation of privacies or taking advantages of others’ physical or  intellectual  rights.

His Highness SheikhKhalifa bin Zayed Al NahyanPresident of the UAE, issued a federal law regarding the combat of cyber crimes including many articles which offer legal protection for the privacy of what is published on the World Wide Web.

His Highness Sheikh Hamdan bin Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Crown Prince of Dubai, and Chairman of the Executive Council, issued a decision regarding information security in Dubai Government aiming at developing an integrated strategy and a unified policy for information security and its systems related to the local government of the emirate.

One of the efforts that in the same direction is the international conferences hosted by the UAE, which gather key figures in cyber protection worldwide to exchange views and study ways to develop mechanisms that achieve top levels of information security, including the expected Gulf Information Security Expo & Conference that will be held in Dubai from 3 – 5 June 2013. It will be the largest event, in this regard, in the region.

However, we must highlight an important factor related to this kind of crimes that is self-awareness and raising one’s personal carefulness when using the Internet and other modern technologies. We all should have a degree of security culture that is enough to limit the access for those who want to reach secrets or important data that will harm their owners. In many cases, this only requires paying attention when adding sensitive information, using a more complicated password, using anti-virus programs and encrypting the most sensitive files. We should also refrain from making important financial transactions through public networks because they’re easy to hack. Extra precaution should be given when we reveal our electronic identities and personal information which should be used on trusted websites only.

Noura Al Suwaidi, Published in “Al Bayan” Arabic Newspaper
Just a moment...
Thanks for your feedback.

Send to Friend

Post Your Comment

Just a moment...
Your comment has been submitted and will be publish after being approved.
1 of 0
0 comment
First
Last

Close

خيارات الوصول

استمع لهذه الصفحة

حدد اللون

القراءة الليلية

إعادة ضبط جميع الإعدادات

المساعدة التفاعلية

ربما لا يشغل كثيراً من الأوساط الحكومية والخاصة العاملة في شتى الميادين، موضوع مثل موضوع أمن المعلومات والجريمة الإلكترونية، نظراً لما يسببه هذا المصطلح في نفوس المشرفين والعاملين في هذه الشؤون، من هاجس الاختراقات واليد الافتراضية الممتدة على الأسرار، والحصون المهددة باستمرار من هواة الاحتيال أو التخريب أو التلاعب بالبيانات والأسرار.

هذا الهاجس يعد منطقياً جداً في ظل ما نسمعه ونراه يومياً من مئات الحوادث على مستوى العالم، أبطالها «هاكرز» وراء لوحات المفاتيح، أصابعهم طويلة جداً بحيث يصلون إلى أي مكان في الأرض من أي مكان مهما بعد أو نأى، فتظل المؤسسات والهيئات على اختلاف توجهاتها في سباق تحصين وملاحقة مع هذه الممارسات، ولعلها معركة محكوم عليها بالبقاء متجددة، ما دام ميدانها هو الفضاء الإلكتروني الرحب المفتوح على كل البشر.

والجريمة الإلكترونية أصبحت بلا شك واقعاً له الكثير من التداعيات غير المرغوبة، تبدأ من الضرر الاجتماعي المعنوي الشخصي، وما يخلفه من تدمير للثقة المجتمعية بين الأفراد، وزعزعة الأمن والاستقرار، وتنتهي أحياناً بتهديد اقتصادات مؤسسات كبرى، أو حتى دول، أو التأثير في الاقتصاد العالمي، حتى نشأت هناك علاقة طردية بين التقدم العلمي في مجال الحاسب، والنمو المتزايد في معدل الجريمة الإلكترونية، نظراً لتضاعفها يوماً بعد يوم.

والمعروف أن الجرائم الإلكترونية تتنوع بين المادية، كالاستيلاء على ماكينات الصرف الآلي والبنوك، أو رسائل البريد الواردة من مصادر مجهولة بخصوص طلب المساهمة في تحرير الأموال من الخارج مع الوعد بنسبة من المبلغ، أو تلك التي توهم صاحب البريد الإلكتروني بفوزه بإحدى الجوائز، وتطالبه بإرسال رقم حسابه المصرفي، ونوع آخر له طابع ثقافي يقوم المجرم فيه بالاستيلاء على الحقوق الفكرية ونسبتها له من دون موافقة الضحية.. تضاف إلى ذلك الجرائم السياسية والاقتصادية والجنسية، عبر نشر أفكار التطرف والانحلال عبر الشبكة العنكبوتية.

ولا شك أن القفزات الحضارية التكنولوجية التي تعيشها الإمارات، أكدت الحاجة إلى وضع قوانين تلاحق جميع هذه الجرائم، وتضع سوراً آمناً أمام التلاعب بهذه الخصوصيات أو النيل من حقوق الآخرين المادية أو المعنوية.

فقد أصدر صاحب السمو الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان رئيس الدولة، حفظه الله، مرسوماً بقانون اتحادي في شأن مكافحة جرائم تقنية المعلومات، تضمن العديد من المواد التي من شأنها توفير الحماية القانونية لخصوصية ما يتم نشره وتداوله على الشبكة المعلوماتية.

كما أصدر سمو الشيخ حمدان بن محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، ولي عهد دبي رئيس المجلس التنفيذي، قراراً بشأن أمن المعلومات في حكومة دبي، يهدف إلى إيجاد وتطوير استراتيجية متكاملة وسياسة موحدة لأمن المعلومات وأنظمتها الخاصة بالحكومة المحلية في الإمارة.

ومن بين الجهود التي تصب في الاتجاه ذاته، المؤتمرات العالمية التي تستضيفها الإمارات باستمرار، وتجمع أقطاب ورموز الحماية الإلكترونية على مستوى العالم، لتبادل الأفكار ودراسة تطوير الآليات الكفيلة بتحقيق أعلى درجات الأمن الإلكتروني للمعلومات، ومنها مؤتمر ومعرض الخليج لأمن المعلومات المنتظر في دبي بين 3 و5 يونيو المقبل، والذي سيكون أكبر حدث مختصّ بأمن المعلومات في المنطقة.

لكننا مع ذلك لا بد أن نؤكد على جانب مهم يتعلق بهذا النوع من الجرائم، وهو الجانب التوعوي الذاتي، ورفع درجة الحرص الشخصي لدى تعاملنا مع شبكة الإنترنت أو الوسائل التقنية الحديثة، ذلك أنه لا بد من وجود درجة من الثقافة الأمنية الخاصة، تتكفل بالحد من وصول الطامعين إلى الكثير من الأسرار أو البيانات المهمة التي قد يضر استعمالها صاحب العلاقة ضرراً كبيراً، وهي لا تتطلب في كثير من الأحيان أكثر من عدم التساهل في وضع البيانات الدقيقة على الأجهزة، واستخدام كلمة سر أكثر تعقيداً، واستخدام برامج مكافحة الفيروسات، واستخدام التشفير لحماية الملفات الأكثر حساسية، وتجنب إجراء معاملات مالية مهمة عبر الشبكات العامة، لأنها سهلة الاختراق، وتوخي الحذر من إعلان الهوية الإلكترونية، وعدم إعطاء معلومات شخصية إلا للمواقع الموثوقة جداً.

نورة السويدي، صحيفة “البيان”

انتظر لحظة...
شكراً على آرائكم

أرسل الى صديق

اكتب تعليقك

انتظر لحظة...
تم إرسال تعليقك وسيتم نشره بعد الموافقة عليه.
1 من0
0تعليق
الأول
الأخير